vivah sanskar

Information and importance about the fifteenth rite Vivaah sanskaar 

Of the sixteen sacraments of Hinduism, Vivaah sanskaar  is considered to be the fifteenth sacrament, which is to be performed after entering the householder life. Through this sanskar, he gets rid of his father's debt. In Hinduism, the union of two souls is told through marriage and it is also very important for the mental and spiritual development of man. That is why today we will explain to you in detail about the importance of marriage ceremony, its types etc.

When is the vivaah sanskaar  performed?

This is a ritual performed in household life. Although there is no limit for this, but when a person has completed his earlier fourteen sanskars and has attained knowledge, then he should get this sanskar done. It is called the sacrament of household life because for this it is necessary to have a minimum age of twenty five years and this age limit is equally applicable for both the bride and groom. That is why this sanskar should be done after the age of twenty five.

What is marriage ceremony?

It is made up of a combination of two words in which Vi means specifically and Vah means to bear, that is, to carry out one's responsibility and duties in particular. In this, when a person has received his education and returns home from Gurukul, then it is necessary to marry according to the rules of the society so that he can contribute to this creation by giving birth to a child.

For this, talks take place between two families and they are married unanimously. Kanyadan is the most important stage in this because the father of the bride donates his daughter to the groom and now he has no right over it. Now that girl goes to the groom's house and discharges her duties there.

In Hinduism, marriage ceremony is considered very sacred and special rules have been made for this, which both have to follow. Also, after marriage in Hinduism, it is considered a bond of birth.

Types of marriage ceremony

Different types of marriages have been described in Manusmriti which are divided into eight parts. Their names are Brahma, Prajapatya, Arsha, Deva, Gandharva, Asura, Rakshasa and Paishach marriage. In this, Brahma marriage is considered to be the greatest and correct, in which after entering the household life of the bride and groom, after being educated and without any kind of money transaction in the same varna, it is done through Vedic mantras. The worst marriage is considered to be Paishach marriage, in which the girl is married if she is not conscious.

Importance of marriage ceremony

Marriage was not in vogue before the Vedic period and the relationship between humans was like that of animals in which a man could have sex with any woman and a woman could have sex with any man. Because of this, the maternal authority was in the primacy at that time because the father had no knowledge, due to which the sons were recognized by the name of their mother.

Gradually, when the Vedic period started and religion was established, then this practice was challenged and marriage came into vogue. For this, sages and sages included it in the rites and rules were made for it. Since then the family tradition also started and the person started living with his family. The biggest benefit of this was to help the person mentally and spiritually.

Along with this, three loans are considered in Hinduism which are Dev loan, Rishi loan and Pitra loan. In this, the debt of the gods was removed by performing sacrifices etc. Pitra debt ended when a man gave birth to a child after marrying a woman. In this way he was freed from ancestral debt. It was necessary to keep the universe going.